Facts on sign languages

01

The word « deaf » is sometimes written with a capital and sometimes in lower case. Is there a specific reason for this ?
In the field of Deaf Studies, the use of an upper case ‘D’ in the word ‘Deaf’ denotes membership of a Deaf community and use of an indigenous signed language as a primary or preferred language. Use of the lower case ‘d’ in the word ‘deaf’ refers to people who have a medically determined hearing loss, but who may not consider themselves to be a member of the Deaf community, and who may not use an indigenous signed language. (see “Signed Languages in Education in Europe – a preliminary exploration”, Lorraine LEESON, Dublin. Council of Europe. 2006)

02

Are all users of sign languages deaf or hard of hearing?
No. Children of Deaf people also often learn how to sign; the native sign language of their parents will be their first language, before any spoken languages. Additionally, parents and siblings of Deaf children learn how to sign to facilitate communication. There are also a number of people who learn sign language in their free time because they have friends or want to become interpreters, or are simply interested in the language.

03

Is there one universal sign language?
No, there isn’t. There are many varieties and there can actually be more than one signed language in a country, just as for oral languages. For example, there are two sign languages in Belgium (French Belgian Sign Language and Flemish Sign Language) or in Spain (Spanish Sign Language and Catalan Sign Language). Also, there are different sign languages in countries that have the same spoken language, such as in the UK and Ireland. This is due to historical developments that are different to the ones experienced in spoken languages.

04

Are there ‘families’ among sign languages (such as for oral languages - Roman or Slavonic languages for example), which would allow intercomprehension?
Yes, there are language families within sign languages. For example Austrian Sign Language or Dutch Sign Language are more readily understood by someone who knows German Sign Language than by someone who knows Italian Sign Language. By contrast, British Sign Language is very different to any other European sign language and only related to Australian Sign Language.

05

Is there any international form of sign language, which could be regarded as a ‘lingua franca’?
There is an international communication system often called International Sign (IS). It is regularly used at international conferences and at meetings with participants who do not share a common sign language. This auxiliary language is indeed used as a lingua franca among sign language users from different countries, also in spontaneous conversation. It cannot be compared to Esperanto, however, as IS is not a language as such. It does not have a fixed grammar or lexicon and relies heavily on gestures, which have meaning only in that specific context, and uses vocabulary from the signer’s native language. This means, signs are clarified and often more than one sign is used to describe a concept to ensure understanding.

06

Are sign languages simply a representation of spoken/written words?
No. They are fully-fledged languages with their own grammar and syntax. Just as with other languages, there are idioms that are difficult to translate and certain words/signs that have no literal translation in another (sign) language.

07

Is there a standardised form of signing for each language and, as in oral language varieties, are there different ‘dialects’, which exist?
There have been attempts to standardise sign languages across Europe. As with spoken languages these attempts have not been successful and dialects are still in existence. This is also due to Deaf schools being in different parts of the countries, using certain signs that the children then spread. Often signs for the weekdays and the months differ, along with the signs for colours.

08

How many people use sign languages within Council of Europe member states?
This is difficult to answer. There are no reliable statistics in each Member State. An estimate for the European Union is 750,000 Deaf sign language users. On average, Deaf sign language users make up about 0.1% of the whole population in any given country. This does not include people learning a sign language as a second language or children of Deaf parents or other family members. In Finland there are for example and estimated 5,000 SL users; in France 100,000, and in Romania 20-30,000.

09

Have sign languages been related to the Council of Europe’s Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment (CEFR) which exists in over 35 languages?
The French Ministry of Education prepared an adaptation of some parts of the CEFR (French version) for French Sign language, in particular common reference levels and descriptors.

10

Is there a way of transcribing sign languages?
Yes, sign languages can be transcribed in a number of ways. There is no standardised way of transcribing sign languages but often the Hamburg Notation System (HamNoSys) is used, which uses certain symbols to describe the handshape and movement of the sign. Another system that works in a very similar manner is SignWriting. Additionally, ‘glossing’ is often used, whereby signs are translated into capitalised words showing facial markers and grammatical information on top of the word or as prefixes. For more information please visit: http://www.signwriting.org/, or http://assets.cambridge.org/97805216/37183/sample/9780521637183web.pdf (chapter on ‘conventions’), or http://www.sign-lang.uni-hamburg.de/projects/hamnosys.html.

11

Where could I best find out more information about sign languages and how could I learn one?
It is best to contact your National Deaf Association to find out more where sign language classes take place and to know more about the national sign language. Information on all Deaf Associations in the EU can be found online on the website of the European Union of the Deaf (EUD): http://eud.eu/EUD_Members-i-159.html (map). More information is also available on the website of the World Federation of the Deaf: http://www.wfdeaf.org/members/ordinary-members/list-of-members.


We would like to thank Mark Wheatley and Annika Pabsch from the European Union of the Deaf (EUD - www.eud.eu)  for their substantial contribution to this section.
 

  Search

en  fr  cs  de  et  el  es  ga  hr  it  pl  ro  sq  sk  sl  sv  nn  sr  bs  lt  mk  lb  nl  hy  pt  tr  da  bg  fi  hu  ka  lv  eu  ca  ru  gl

Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Gebärdensprache

01

Das Wort "deaf" (engl. für gehörlos) wird manchmal mit großem und manchmal mit kleinem Anfangsbuchstaben geschrieben. Gibt es dafür einen bestimmten Grund?

Im Bereich der Gehörlosenstudien verweist die Verwendung eines großen "D" im Wort "Deaf" auf die Zugehörigkeit zur Gruppe der Gehörlosen und die Nutzung einer indigenen Gebärdensprache als erste oder bevorzugte Sprache. Das Wort "deaf" mit kleinem "d" bezeichnet Menschen, bei denen ein Hörverlust medizinisch festgestellt wurde, die sich aber möglicherweise nicht als Mitglieder der Gehörlosengemeinschaft sehen und auch keine indigene Gebärdensprache nutzen. (siehe “Signed Languages in Education in Europe – a preliminary exploration”, Lorraine LEESON, Dublin. Europarat 2006)

02

Sind alle Nutzer von Gebärdensprache gehörlos oder schwerhörig?
Nein. Kinder von Gehörlosen können häufig auch Gebärden; sie lernen als erste Sprache die Gebärdenmuttersprache ihrer Eltern, bevor sie sprechen lernen. Zudem lernen auch die Eltern und Geschwister von gehörlosen Kindern die Gebärdensprache, um die Kommunikation zu erleichtern. Es gibt auch Menschen, die in ihrer Freizeit die Gebärdensprache erlernen, entweder für ihre Freunde oder weil sie Dolmetscher werden wollen oder einfach aus Interesse an der Sprache.

03

Gibt es weltweit nur eine Gebärdensprache?
Nein, es gibt zahlreiche Varianten. Tatsächlich kann es in einem Land mehr als eine Gebärdensprache geben, so wie dies auch bei gesprochenen Sprachen der Fall ist. Beispielsweise gibt es zwei Gebärdensprachen in Belgien (französisch-belgische Gebärdensprache und flämische Gebärdensprache) und in Spanien (spanische Gebärdensprache und katalanische Gebärdensprache). Auch gibt es unterschiedliche Gebärdensprachen in Ländern, in denen die gleiche Sprache gesprochen wird, z. B. in Großbritannien und Irland. Das hängt mit der historischen Entwicklung zusammen, die sich von der Entwicklung der gesprochenen Sprachen unterscheidet.

04

Gibt es bei Gebärdensprachen (wie bei gesprochenen Sprachen, z. B. romanische und slawische) Sprachfamilien, die ein gegenseitiges Verstehen ermöglichen?
Ja, es gibt Sprachfamilien bei Gebärdensprachen. Beispielsweise wird die österreichische oder niederländische Gebärdensprache besser von Menschen verstanden, die die deutsche Gebärdensprache können, als von jemandem, der die italienische Gebärdensprache kann. Dagegen unterscheidet sich die britische Gebärdensprache deutlich von den anderen europäischen Gebärdensprachen und ist lediglich mit der australischen Gebärdensprache verwandt.

05

Gibt es eine internationale Form der Gebärdensprache, die als Lingua franca gelten könnte?
Es gibt ein internationales Kommunikationsinstrument, das sog. Internationale Gebärden (International Sign, IS). Es wird regelmäßig bei internationalen Konferenzen und bei Diskussionen mit Teilnehmern, die nicht die gleiche Gebärdensprache verwenden, eingesetzt. Diese Hilfssprache wird tatsächlich von Gebärdenden aus unterschiedlichen Ländern als Lingua franca genutzt, auch in spontaner Konversation. Allerdings ist sie nicht vergleichbar mit Esperanto, da es sich bei IS nicht um eine Sprache im eigentlichen Sinne handelt. Sie hat keine feste Grammatik und keinen festen Wortschatz und basiert vor allem auf Gesten, die nur im jeweiligen Kontext eine spezielle Bedeutung haben, und greift auf Wörter aus der Muttersprache des Gebärdenden zurück. Das heißt, dass die Gebärden erklärt werden und häufig mehr als eine Gebärde verwendet wird, um einen Begriff zu beschreiben und so das Verständnis sicherzustellen.

06

Stellen Gebärdensprachen lediglich gesprochene/geschriebene Wörter dar?
Nein. Sie sind richtige Sprachen mit eigener Grammatik und Syntax. Wie bei anderen Sprachen auch, gibt es Redewendungen, die sich schwer übersetzen lassen, und für einige Wörter/Gebärden gibt es keine wörtliche Übersetzung in einer anderen (Gebärden-)Sprache.

07

Hat jede Sprache ihre standardisierte Form des Gebärdens, und existieren wie bei gesprochenen Sprachvarianten verschiedene "Dialekte"?
Es gab Versuche, die Gebärdensprachen in Europa zu standardisieren. Wie bei gesprochenen Sprachen auch blieben diese Versuche erfolglos, so dass es immer noch Dialekte gibt. Das hängt auch mit den Gehörlosenschulen in verschiedenen Landesteilen zusammen, an denen ganz bestimmte Gebärden verwendet werden, die die Kinder dann verbreiten. Häufig unterscheiden sich die Gebärden für die Wochentage und Monate sowie auch die für Farben.

08

Wie viele Menschen in den Mitgliedstaaten des Europarats nutzen Gebärdensprachen?
Das ist schwer zu sagen. In den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten gibt es keine verlässlichen Statistiken. Einer Schätzung für die Europäische Union zufolge gibt es 750.000 Gehörlose, die Gebärdensprache nutzen. Im Durchschnitt sind etwa 0,1 % der Gesamtbevölkerung eines Landes gehörlose Nutzer von Gebärdensprache. Ausgenommen sind hier Menschen, die eine Gebärdensprache als zweite Sprache lernen, und Kinder gehörloser Eltern sowie andere Familienangehörige. Beispielsweise gibt es in Finnland schätzungsweise 5000 Gebärdende, in Frankreich 100.000 und in Rumänien zwischen 20.000 und 30.000.

09

Bezieht sich der Gemeinsame Europäische Referenzrahmen für Sprachen: Lernen, Lehren, Beurteilen (CEFR) des Europarats, den es in über 35 Sprachen gibt, auch auf die Gebärdensprachen?
Das französische Bildungsministerium hat einige Teile des CEFR (französische Fassung) für die französische Gebärdensprache aufbereitet, besonders hinsichtlich der Referenzniveaus und Deskriptoren.

10

Gibt es eine Möglichkeit, Gebärdensprachen zu transkribieren?

Ja, Gebärdensprachen können auf verschiedene Art und Weise transkribiert werden. Eine Standardtranskription für Gebärdensprachen gibt es nicht, aber häufig wird das Hamburger Notationssystem (HamNoSys) verwendet, das bestimmte Symbole nutzt, um Handform und Bewegung einer Gebärde darzustellen. Ein anderes, ähnlich funktionierendes System ist SignWriting. Außerdem wird oft mit Erläuterungen gearbeitet, indem Gebärden in groß geschriebene Wörter übersetzt und Gesichtspiktogramme und grammatikalische Informationen über oder vor dem Wort ergänzt werden. Weitere Informationen gibt es im Internet unter: http://www.signwriting.org/, Cambridge (Kapitel Conventions) und http://www.sign-lang.uni-hamburg.de/projects/hamnosys.html.

11

Wo kann ich weitere Informationen über Gebärdensprachen finden und wie kann ich eine lernen?

Am besten wenden Sie sich an den Gehörlosenverband in Ihrem Land, um herauszufinden, wo Gebärdensprachkurse stattfinden, und um mehr über die Gebärdensprache Ihres Landes zu erfahren. Informationen zu allen Gehörlosenverbänden in der EU gibt es im Internet auf der Website des Europäischen Gehörlosenverbandes (European Union of the Deaf, EUD): http://eud.eu/EUD_Members-i-159.html (Karte). Weitere Informationen sind auch auf der Website des Internationalen Gehörlosenverbandes zu finden: http://www.wfdeaf.org/members/ordinary-members/list-of-members.

Wir bedanken uns bei Mark Wheatley und Annika Pabsch vom Europäischen Gehörlosenverband EUD (www.eud.eu) für ihren wertvollen Beitrag zu diesem Kapitel.

Fakten zu Sprache
Wusstest du
schon, dass...
Wissenswertes zur Gebärdensprache
Schätze deine Sprachkenntnisse ein!
Sprachschätze
Sprich mit mir!
Tiergeräusche
Sprachenquiz
Einzigartige Wörter
Stars und Sprachen
Hallo
Palindrome
Selbes Wort -
andere Bedeutung
Brain game
Längste Wörter
Zungenbrecher
Redensarten
Schicke eine
E-card
Gehörlosen-
sprachspiel