Celebrate the European Day of Languages with us!

Throughout Europe, 800 million Europeans are represented in the Council of Europe's 47 member states and all are encouraged to discover more languages at any age, as part of or alongside their studies. This stems from the Council of Europe’s conviction that linguistic diversity is a tool for achieving greater intercultural understanding and a key element in the rich cultural heritage of our continent. Therefore, the Council of Europe, in Strasbourg, promotes plurilingualism in the whole of Europe

At the Council of Europe’s initiative, the European Day of Languages has been celebrated every year since 2001 on 26 September

Newest Events

24/9/2018 - 29/10/2018
sk
Základná škola Martinská Žilina
26/9/2018 - 5/10/2018
ro
Colegiul Tehnic "Gh. Asachi" Iași
25/9/2018 - 1/10/2018
pl
Liceum Ogólnokształcące Nr I w Kępnie
22/6/2018 - 22/10/2018
es
I.E.S "LAUREL DE LA REINA".
24/9/2018 - 5/10/2018
es
I.E.S. "LAUREL DE LA REINA".
26/9/2018 - 3/10/2018
pl
Strzelce

View all events


Activities

How multilingual is your classroom/organisation?


For the 2018 European Day of Languages we invite schools, offices, associations and in fact any organisations or individuals to showcase their language skills. Through this initiative we would like to highlight multilingual Europe in practice and discover Europe’s most multilingual classrooms and workplaces. Find out more

 

EDL T-shirt competition


Send us your design/image/graphic and have your layout on the official EDL T-ShirtFind out more

Or simply buy the official EDL T-shirt.

 


Did you know that...

The European Day of Languages is being supported and coordinated by the European Centre for Modern Languages of the Council of Europe? The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union.



Facts and fun

NEW Place names

Why does a city, town or region have its particular name? Discover some of the fascinating origins of place names in Europe.

view page

Events



view page

Materials



view page

Downloads



view page

Your national relay



view page


Self-evaluate your language skills

The 'Self-evaluate your language skills' tool helps you to assess your level of proficiency in the languages you know according to six reference levels described in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

Start now!

2018 - European Year of Cultural Heritage

The cultural heritage of the European Union is a rich and diverse mosaic of cultural and creative expressions, our inheritance from previous generations of Europeans and our legacy for those to come. More information

Feiere den Europäischen Tag der Sprachen (ETS) mit uns!

Europaweit werden 800 Millionen Bürger, die von den 47 Mitgliedstaaten im Europarat vertreten werden, ermutigt, in jedem Alter in und außerhalb der Schule mehr Sprachen zu lernen. Der Europarat fördert Mehrsprachigkeit in ganz Europa in der Überzeugung, dass sprachliche Vielfalt zu einem besseren Verständnis zwischenden Kulturen beitragen kann und zu den zentralen Bestandteilen des kulturellen Erbes unseres Kontinents zählt.
Auf Initiative des Europarats in Straßburg wird seit 2001 jedes Jahr am 26. September der Europäische Tag der Sprachen gefeiert.

Neueste Veranstaltungen

26/8/2018 - 27/9/2018
sk
ZŠ Vychylovka
26/9/2018 - 26/10/2018
it
school
25/9/2018 - 30/10/2018
ro
Lycee "Onisifor Ghibu"
20/9/2018 - 31/10/2018
gr
ASOPIA, VIOTIA, GREECE
24/9/2018 - 28/9/2018
si
Osnovna šola Križe
26/9/2018 - 17/10/2018
gb
St John Payne Catholic School

Alle Veranstaltungen zeigen


Aktivitäten

Wie mehrsprachig ist deine Klasse/ dein Arbeitsplatz?


Im Rahmen des Europäischen Tags der Sprachen 2018 laden wir Schulen, Büros, Vereine und einfach alle Organisationen und Einzelpersonen ein, ihre Sprachkenntnisse zu präsentieren. Mit dieser Initiative wollen wir die Mehrsprachigkeit Europas in der Praxis zeigen und die Klassenzimmer und Arbeitsplätze mit den meisten Sprachen finden. Mehr Informationen

 

ETS T-shirt Wettbewerb


Schicke uns ein Design, ein Bild oder eine Grafik und komme mit deinem Entwurf auf das offizielle ETS T-ShirtMehr Informationen

Oder bestell dir einfach das diesjährige, offizielle ETS T-Shirt.

 


Wusstest du, dass...

...der Europäische Tag der Sprachen vom Europäischen Fremdsprachenzentrum des Europarates getragen und koordiniert wird? Der Europarat ist Europas führende Organisation für Menschenrechte. Er hat 47 Mitgliedsstaaten, darunter die 28 Mitglieder der Europäischen Union.



Info und Spiel

NEU Ortsnamen

Woher haben Städte, Dörfer und Regionen eigentlich ihre Namen? Entdecke die faszinierenden Wurzeln europäischer Ortsnamen!

zur Seite

Veranstaltungen



zur Seite

Material



zur Seite

Downloads



zur Seite

KoordinatorInnen



zur Seite


Tool zur Selbsteinschätzung deiner Sprachkenntnisse

Mit diesem Tool kannst du deine Sprachkenntnisse nach den 6 Stufen des 'Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen' selbst einschätzen. Dieses Tool wurde vom Europäischen Fremdsprachenzentrum, einer Institution des Europarates, entwickelt.

Los geht’s!

2018 - Europäisches Kulturerbejahr

Das Kulturerbe der Europäischen Union ist ein reiches und facettenreiches Mosaik kultureller und kreativer Ausdrucksformen, unser Erbe vorheriger und Vermächtnis für kommende Generationen. Mehr Information