The celebration of linguistic diversity

The human condition

Our planet has over 7 billion people who speak between 6 000 and 7 000 different languages. A few languages are spoken by hundreds of millions of speakers, such as English or Chinese, but most are spoken by only a few thousand, or just a handful of speakers. In fact, 96% of the world’s languages are spoken by just 4% of the people. Europeans often feel their continent to have an exceptional number of languages, especially when compared to North America or Australia. Yet, only 3% of the world’s total, some 225 languages, are indigenous to Europe. Most of the world’s languages are spoken in a broad area on either side of the Equator - in southeast Asia, India, Africa, and South America. Many Europeans may think that a monolingual way of life is the norm. But between a half and two-thirds of the world’s population is bilingual to some degree, and a significant number are plurilingual. Plurilingualism is much more the normal human condition than monolingualism. Diversity of languages and of cultures, as in the case of biodiversity, is increasingly being seen as a good and beautiful thing in itself. Each language has its own way of seeing the world and is the product of its own particular history. All languages have their individual identity and value, and all are equally adequate as modes of expression for the people who use them. We know from comparisons of the rates at which children learn to speak, that no language is intrinsically more difficult than any other language.

The structure of language

Language is an arbitrary system of sounds and symbols which is used for many purposes by a group of people, chiefly to communicate with each other, to express cultural identity, to convey social relationships, and to provide a source of delight (for example, in literature). Languages differ from each other in their sounds, grammar, vocabulary, and patterns of discourse. But all languages are highly complex entities. Languages vary in the number of their vowel and consonant sounds from less than a dozen to over a hundred. European languages tend to have inventories in the middle range – from around 25 such sounds (e.g. Spanish) to over 60 (e.g. Irish). Alphabets reflect these sounds with varying degrees of accuracy: some alphabets (e.g. Welsh) are very regular in the way they symbolise sounds; others (e.g. English) are very irregular. Within grammar, each language comprises several thousand points of word formation and sentence construction. Each language has a huge vocabulary available to meet the needs of its users – in the case of European languages, where scientific and technical vocabulary is very large, this reaches several hundred thousand words and phrases. Individual speakers know and use only a fraction of a language’s total vocabulary. The words educated people use – their active vocabulary – can reach some 50,000 words; the words they know but do not use – their passive vocabulary – is somewhat larger. In everyday conversation, people often make use of a small number of words, but with great frequency. It has been estimated that a 21-year-old has already uttered some 50 million words. Living languages and cultures are constantly changing. People influence each other in the way they speak and write. New media, such as the Internet, give languages fresh opportunities to grow. Languages are always in contact with each other, and affect each other in many ways, especially by borrowing words. English, for example, has over the centuries borrowed from over 350 languages, and European languages are all currently borrowing many words from English.

Language acquisition

The task of learning the mother tongue is one which we accomplish essentially in the first five years of life, though certain features of language (such as vocabulary acquisition) continue indefinitely. Language develops through several stages. During the first year the baby makes a wide range of vocalisations, out of which emerge the rhythm and intonation patterns, and then the vowels and consonants. Around one year the first understandable words are uttered. During the second year two-word combinations follow, moving slowly to three- and four-word combinations. Three and four-year-olds use increasingly longer and complex sentences. Vocabulary grows from some 50 active words by 18 months to several thousand words by age five. The mother tongue is usually described as an individual’s first learned or primary language. This is the language people know best, the language they use most, or the language with which they most closely identify. With some bilingual people, two languages have been learned so closely together that it is impossible to choose between them, in terms of ”first” or “second” languages. With most bilinguals, however, the distinction is clearer, as the learning of a second or third language takes place in school or later in life. There is no absolute age limit beyond which it is impossible to learn another language. Bilingualism is a complex phenomenon. A common myth is that a bilingual person has two equally developed languages; in reality, bilinguals rarely display a balance between their two languages. Another myth is that all bilinguals are the same in their abilities; in reality, they display many kinds of bilingualism. Some sound like native speakers in both their languages; others have a strong foreign accent in one. Some can read well in both languages; others can do so only in one. Some prefer to write in one language, but can only talk in another. Bilingualism brings all kinds of benefits. Being bilingual can enhance your chances of successfully learning other languages. Somehow, the learning of a third language is facilitated by the learning of a second. Bilinguals may also have some advantages in thinking: there is evidence that they make faster progress than monolinguals in certain areas of early cognitive development and are in many ways more creative in their linguistic skills. Bilinguals have the great advantage of being able to communicate with a wider variety of people. Because bilinguals have the opportunity of experiencing two or more cultures in an intimate way, their ability can lead to more sensitivity in communication and a readiness to overcome cultural barriers and to build cultural bridges. There are also important practical issues: bilinguals have a potential economic advantage because a larger number of jobs becomes available to them. It is also increasingly accepted that multilingual companies have a competitive edge over monolingual ones.

Language families

Languages are related to each other like the members of a family. Most of the languages of Europe can be grouped together, because of their common origins, as a single, large Indo-European language family. The families in Europe with the most member-languages and the most speakers are the Germanic, Romance, and Slavic. The Germanic language family has a northern branch with Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic and Faroese, as well as a western branch with German, Dutch, Frisian, English and Yiddish as its members. The Romance language family has as its members Romanian, Italian, Corsican, Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, Occitan, French, Romansh, Ladin and Sardinian. To the Slavic language family belong languages such as Russian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, Polish, Sorbian, Czech, Slovak, Slovenian, Serbian, Croatian, Macedonian and Bulgarian. Within the Celtic family are Irish, Scots Gaelic, Welsh, and Breton, with revival movements under way for Cornish and Manx. To the Baltic family belong Latvian and Lithuanian. Separate families with only one member are Greek, Albanian and Armenian. Basque is an exceptional case, because it does not belong to the Indo-European family and its origins are unknown. Other language families also have members in Europe. In the North we find the Uralic languages: Finnish, Estonian, Hungarian, several Sámi languages, as well as other small languages in the northern parts of the Russian Federation such as Ingrian or Karelian. In the Southeast we find representatives of the Altaic language family, notably Turkish and Azerbaijani. The Caucasian family is spoken in a relatively small and compact area between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea, and comprises also about 40 members, among them Georgian, and Abkhaz. The Afro-Asiatic family includes Maltese, Hebrew and Berber. All these languages use a small number of alphabetic scripts. Most languages use the Roman (or Latin) alphabet. Russian and some other Slavic languages use Cyrillic. Greek, Yiddish, Armenian and Georgian each have their own script. Non- European languages widely used on European territory include Arabic, Chinese and Hindi, each with its own writing system.

The languages of Europe

Estimates vary but there are about 225 spoken indigenous languages. The five languages spoken by most people in Europe are, by number of mother tongue speakers, Russian, German, English, French and Italian. But most European countries operate routinely with several languages. The exceptions are small states such as Liechtenstein and the Holy See (Vatican), and even in these places we find significant use of second languages. The 49 states parties to the European Cultural Convention have 41 official or national languages and many accord special status to other languages. Most countries have a number of traditionally spoken minority or regional languages. The Russian Federation has by far the highest number of languages spoken on its territory; the number varies from 130 to 200 depending on the criteria. Some regional and minority languages have obtained official status, for example, Basque, Catalan and Galician in the regions of Spain in which they are spoken. Welsh has protective language rights in the United Kingdom, as does Frisian in the Netherlands and the Sámi languages in Norway, Sweden and Finland. Due to the influx of migrants and refugees from all over the world, Europe has become increasingly multilingual. London, for example, has more than 300 languages spoken as a home language. Most other larger cities, particularly in western Europe, easily have 100-200 languages spoken as mother tongues by their school populations. The most common languages include Arabic, Berber Turkish, Kurdish, Hindi, Punjabi, and Chinese. However, many of these languages are spoken by small minorities, and their future is under threat. Daily, informal, oral interaction between parents and children is crucial to the survival of a language. Experts have estimated that over this century at least half of the world’s languages, and perhaps more, will die out. Within two generations all traces of a language can disappear when children are no longer raised in it. The reasons for giving up a language are manifold, and include the physical destruction (through environmental crisis and disease) of a community or its habitat, active antagonism by political groups, and – the commonest cause - economic and cultural domination by more powerful and prestigious languages. But whatever the reason, the result is the same: the loss to humanity of a unique resource. Through the work of the Council of Europe, two important international instruments came into force in 1998. The European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages is in force in 22* member states; the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities which includes some provisions for minority languages, is in force in 39* member states. These treaties are important in protecting and promoting the linguistic wealth of Europe. (* ratifications in 2007) At the beginning of the 21st century all European citizens live in a multilingual environment. In their daily lives citizens come across many different languages, for example on a bus or a train, through TV, radio or newspapers, or the ingredients on a product in the supermarket. There is a need to increase popular knowledge and understanding of the diversity of the languages of Europe, and of the factors affecting their maintenance and growth. There is a need to generate a greater interest in and curiosity about languages. There is a need to enhance linguistic tolerance within and between nations. These were just some of the aims of the European Year of Languages 2001 which was organised by the Council of Europe and the European Union. On the eve of the closing event of the Year, the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe decided to declare the European Day of Languages to be celebrated on 26th September each year, with similar objectives.

  Search

en  fr  cs  de  et  el  es  ga  hr  it  pl  ro  sq  sk  sl  sv  nn  sr  bs  lt  mk  lb  nl  hy  pt  tr  da  bg  fi  hu  ka  lv  eu  ca  ru  gl

Sprachliche Vielfalt feiern

Mensch und Sprache

Auf der Erde gibt es über 7 Milliarden Menschen, die zwischen 6000 und 7000 verschiedene Sprachen sprechen. Einige wenige Sprachen werden von mehreren hundert Millionen Menschen gesprochen, beispielsweise Englisch und Chinesisch, aber die meisten Sprachen werden nur von einigen tausend oder einer Handvoll Menschen gesprochen. Tatsächlich werden 96 % der Sprachen weltweit von gerade einmal 4 % der Menschen gesprochen. Die Europäer haben häufig den Eindruck, dass ihr Kontinent – vor allem im Vergleich zu Nordamerika oder Australien – eine außergewöhnlich hohe Zahl an Sprachen aufweist. Aber nur 3 % aller Sprachen weltweit, d. h. rund 225 Sprachen, sind indigene europäische Sprachen. Die meisten Sprachen der Welt werden in einem weiten Gebiet beiderseits des Äquators – in Südostasien, Indien, Afrika und Südamerika – gesprochen. Für viele Europäer ist wahrscheinlich Einsprachigkeit die Norm. Die Hälfte bis zwei Drittel der Weltbevölkerung ist aber mehr oder weniger zweisprachig und ein erheblicher Teil sogar mehrsprachig. Mehrsprachigkeit ist viel eher die Regel als Einsprachigkeit. Sprachliche und kulturelle Vielfalt wird wie die biologische Vielfalt zunehmend als ein guter und schöner Aspekt unseres Lebens gesehen. Jede Sprache hat ihre eigene Sicht der Welt und ist das Ergebnis ihrer eigenen Geschichte. Alle Sprachen haben ihre individuelle Identität und Bedeutung, und alle sind gleichermaßen als Ausdrucksmöglichkeit für die Menschen, die sie nutzen, geeignet. Aus vergleichenden Untersuchungen zur Frage, wie schnell Kinder sprechen lernen, wissen wir, dass keine Sprache wirklich schwieriger ist als andere.

Sprachstruktur

Sprache ist ein willkürliches System von Lauten und Zeichen, das von einer Gruppe von Menschen für verschiedene Zwecke eingesetzt wird, vor allem um miteinander zu kommunizieren, kulturelle Identität zum Ausdruck zu bringen, soziale Beziehungen zu transportieren und Freude zu bereiten (z. B. in der Literatur). Sprachen unterscheiden sich in Klang, Grammatik, Vokabular und Redemustern. Gemeinsam ist allen Sprachen jedoch, dass sie hochkomplexe Gebilde sind. Die Zahl der Vokal- und Konsonantlaute variiert von weniger als einem Dutzend bis zu über hundert. Bei den europäischen Sprachen liegt diese Zahl im mittleren Bereich – zwischen 25 (z. B. Spanisch) bis zu über 60 (z. B. Irisch). Diese Laute werden mit unterschiedlicher Genauigkeit im Alphabet abgebildet: Einige Sprachen (z. B. Walisisch) sind sehr regelmäßig in der Umsetzung von Lauten in Zeichen, andere (z. B. Englisch) sehr unregelmäßig. Bei der Grammatik verfügt jede Sprache über mehrere tausend Möglichkeiten bei Wortbildung und Satzkonstruktion. Jede Sprache hält für die Bedürfnisse der Anwender einen reichen Wortschatz bereit – im Fall der europäischen Sprachen mit ihrem sehr umfangreichen wissenschaftlich-technischen Vokabular sind dies mehrere hunderttausend Wörter und Wendungen. Der Einzelne kennt und nutzt nur einen Bruchteil des gesamten Wortschatzes seiner Sprache. Der aktive Wortschatz von gebildeten Menschen besteht aus ca. 50.000 Wörtern; ihr passiver Wortschatz – d. h. die Zahl der Wörter, die sie kennen, aber nicht verwenden – ist um einiges größer. In Alltagsgesprächen wird eine geringe Zahl von Wörtern mit großer Häufigkeit genutzt. Schätzungen zufolge hat ein 21-Jähriger bereits rund 50 Millionen Wörter gesprochen. Lebende Sprachen und Kulturen verändern sich ständig. Die Menschen beeinflussen sich gegenseitig in ihrer Art zu sprechen und zu schreiben. Neue Medien wie das Internet bieten den Sprachen neue Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten. Sprachen sind stets miteinander in Kontakt und wirken auf vielfältige Weise aufeinander ein, besonders durch die Entlehnung von Wörtern. Das Englische hat beispielsweise im Laufe der Jahrhunderte Wörter aus über 350 Sprachen übernommen, und sämtliche europäischen Sprachen übernehmen heute viele Wörter aus dem Englischen.

Sprachenerwerb

Unsere Muttersprache erlernen wir im Wesentlichen in den ersten fünf Lebensjahren, aber bei bestimmten Aspekten (beispielsweise dem Lernen neuer Wörter) geht das Lernen unaufhörlich weiter. Die Sprachentwicklung geschieht in mehreren Phasen. Im ersten Lebensjahr artikuliert sich das Kind in unterschiedlichster Weise, woraus sich Sprachrhythmus und Intonation und dann Vokale und Konsonanten entwickeln. Etwa im Alter von einem Jahr spricht das Kind die ersten verständlichen Wörter. Im zweiten Lebensjahr folgen Zweiwortsätze, und dann nach und nach Drei- und Vierwortsätze. Drei- und Vierjährige sprechen zunehmend längere und komplexere Sätze. Der aktive Wortschatz wächst von etwa 50 Wörtern im Alter von 18 Monaten auf mehrere tausend Wörter bei Fünfjährigen an. Die Muttersprache wird gewöhnlich als die erste gelernte Sprache oder Primärsprache eines Menschen bezeichnet. Dies ist die Sprache, die die Menschen am besten können und am meisten benutzen bzw. die Sprache, mit der sie sich am stärksten identifizieren. Manche bilinguale Menschen haben ihre zwei Sprachen in so enger Verbindung miteinander gelernt, dass nicht zwischen "erster" und "zweiter" Sprache unterschieden werden kann. Bei den meisten zweisprachigen Menschen ist die Unterscheidung aber klarer, da sie die zweite oder dritte Sprache in der Schule oder zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt erlernen. Es gibt keine Altersgrenze für das Erlernen einer anderen Sprache. Zweisprachigkeit ist ein komplexes Phänomen. Es ist ein verbreiteter Irrtum, dass zweisprachige Menschen beide Sprachen gleich gut können; tatsächlich halten sich die beiden Sprachen nur selten die Waage. Auch ist es nicht so, wie allgemein angenommen, dass alle zweisprachigen Menschen die gleichen Sprachfertigkeiten aufweisen; es gibt viele Arten von Zweisprachigkeit. Einige sprechen wie Muttersprachler in beiden Sprachen, andere haben in einer der beiden Sprachen einen starken ausländischen Akzent. Manche können in beiden Sprachen gut lesen, andere nur in einer. Einige ziehen es vor, in einer Sprache zu schreiben, können aber nur in einer anderen sprechen. Zweisprachigkeit hat viele Vorzüge. Wer zweisprachig ist, hat möglicherweise bessere Erfolgsaussichten beim Erlernen weiterer Sprachen. Gewissermaßen erleichtert das Erlernen einer zweiten Sprache den Erwerb einer dritten Sprache. Zweisprachigkeit kann auch für das Denken von Vorteil sein: Es gibt Hinweise, dass zweisprachige Menschen in der frühen Entwicklung kognitiver Fähigkeiten in bestimmten Bereichen schnellere Fortschritte machen als einsprachige und dass sie vielfach sprachlich kreativer sind. Bilinguale Menschen haben den großen Vorteil, dass sie mit einem größeren Kreis verschiedener Menschen kommunizieren können. Wer zweisprachig ist, kann zwei oder mehr Kulturen eingehend kennenlernen, und dies kann zu größerer Sensibilität in der Kommunikation sowie zur Bereitschaft, kulturelle Grenzen zu überwinden und Brücken zu bauen, führen. Auch einige wichtige praktische Aspekte gibt es: Zweisprachige können auch in wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht profitieren, da sie für eine größere Zahl von Arbeitsplätzen in Frage kommen. Zunehmend setzt sich auch die Erkenntnis durch, dass mehrsprachige Unternehmen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil gegenüber einsprachigen Firmen haben.

Sprachfamilien

Sprachen sind miteinander verwandt wie die Mitglieder einer Familie. Auf Grund ihres gemeinsamen Ursprungs lassen sich die meisten europäischen Sprachen zu einer einzigen großen Familie indoeuropäischer Sprachen zusammenfassen. Unter den europäischen Sprachfamilien haben die germanischen, romanischen und slawischen Sprachen die meisten Mitgliedssprachen und werden von den meisten Menschen gesprochen. Zum nordischen Zweig der germanischen Sprachfamilie gehören Dänisch, Norwegisch, Schwedisch, Isländisch und Färöisch, zum westlichen Zweig Deutsch, Niederländisch, Friesisch, Englisch und Jiddisch. Zu den romanischen Sprachen gehören Rumänisch, Italienisch, Korsisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch, Katalanisch, Okzitanisch, Französisch, Rätoromanisch, Ladinisch und Sardisch. Die slawische Sprachfamilie umfasst Sprachen wie Russisch, Ukrainisch, Weißrussisch, Polnisch, Sorbisch, Tschechisch, Slowakisch, Slowenisch, Serbisch, Kroatisch, Mazedonisch und Bulgarisch. Zu den keltischen Sprachen zählen Irisch, Schottisch-Gälisch, Walisisch und Bretonisch; Kornisch und Manx erleben derzeit eine Renaissance. Lettisch und Litauisch gehören zur Familie der baltischen Sprachen. Griechisch, Albanisch und Armenisch bilden jeweils eine eigene Familie. Baskisch ist ein Sonderfall: Diese Sprache gehört nicht zur indoeuropäischen Familie, ihr Ursprung ist unbekannt. In Europa finden sich auch Sprachen anderer Familien. Im Norden gibt es die uralischen Sprachen: Finnisch, Estnisch, Ungarisch, einige samische Sprachen und auch andere kleine Sprachen in den nördlichen Teilen der Russischen Föderation wie Ingrisch und Karelisch. Im Südosten finden sich Vertreter der altaischen Sprachfamilie, insbesondere Türkisch und Aserbaidschanisch. Die kaukasischen Sprachen werden in einem relativ kleinen und kompakten Gebiet zwischen Schwarzem Meer und Kaspischem Meer gesprochen; zu dieser Familie gehören rund 40 Sprachen, u. a. Georgisch und Abchasisch. Zur afroasiatischen Familie zählen Maltesisch, Hebräisch und Berberisch. All diese Sprachen greifen auf eine geringe Zahl von Schriften zurück. Die meisten Sprachen verwenden römische (oder lateinische) Schrift. Das Russische und einige andere slawische Sprachen nutzen kyrillische Buchstaben. Griechisch, Jiddisch, Armenisch und Georgisch haben jeweils ihre eigene Schrift. Zu den nichteuropäischen Sprachen, die auf europäischem Gebiet weit verbreitet sind, gehören Arabisch, Chinesisch und Hindi, die auch jeweils eine eigene Schrift haben.

Die Sprachen Europas

Schätzungen haben zu unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen geführt, aber man kann von etwa 225 gesprochenen indigenen Sprachen ausgehen. Gemessen an der Zahl der Muttersprachler sind die fünf in Europa am meisten gesprochenen Sprachen Russisch, Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Italienisch. Allerdings kommen in den meisten europäischen Ländern im Alltag mehrere Sprachen zum Einsatz. Ausnahmen sind kleine Länder wie Liechtenstein und der Heilige Stuhl (Vatikan), aber auch dort wird in nicht unerheblichem Maße eine zweite Sprache genutzt. Die 49 Vertragsstaaten des Europäischen Kulturabkommens haben 41 Amts- oder Nationalsprachen, und andere Sprachen haben dort vielfach einen Sonderstatus. In den meisten Ländern werden eine Reihe traditioneller Minderheiten- oder Regionalsprachen gesprochen. Die bei weitem größte Zahl von Sprachen – je nach Kriterium zwischen 130 und 200 – wird auf dem Gebiet der Russischen Föderation gesprochen. Einige Regional- und Minderheitensprachen haben den Status einer Amtssprache erhalten, z. B. Baskisch, Katalanisch und Galizisch in den spanischen Regionen, in denen sie gesprochen werden. Im Vereinigten Königreich ist Walisisch und in den Niederlanden Friesisch eine geschützte Sprache, und die samischen Sprachen sind in Norwegen, Schweden und Finnland geschützt. Auf Grund des Zustroms von Migranten und Flüchtlingen aus der ganzen Welt hat die Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa zugenommen. In London werden beispielsweise über 300 Sprachen zuhause gesprochen. In den meisten anderen größeren Städten, insbesondere in Westeuropa, werden von Schülern leicht 100-200 Sprachen als Muttersprache gesprochen. Am häufigsten sind Arabisch, Berberisch-Türkisch, Kurdisch, Hindi, Panjabi und Chinesisch. Allerdings werden viele dieser Sprachen von kleinen Minderheiten gesprochen, und ihre Zukunft ist ungewiss. Die alltägliche informelle mündliche Interaktion zwischen Eltern und Kindern ist für das Überleben einer Sprache von entscheidender Bedeutung. Nach Expertenschätzungen werden mindestens die Hälfte der weltweit gesprochenen Sprachen oder auch mehr im Laufe dieses Jahrhunderts aussterben. Innerhalb von zwei Generationen kann eine Sprache vollständig verschwinden, wenn Kinder nicht mehr darin erzogen werden. Es gibt viele Gründe für das Verschwinden einer Sprache, u. a. die materielle Zerstörung einer Gemeinschaft oder ihres Lebensraums (durch Umweltkrisen und Krankheit), der aktive Widerstand von politischen Gruppen und – was wohl am häufigsten ist – das wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Dominieren von mächtigeren und renommierteren Sprachen. Aber was auch immer der Grund ist, der Ergebnis ist immer das gleiche: Der Menschheit geht eine einzigartige Ressource verloren. Durch die Arbeit des Europarats sind 1998 zwei wichtige internationale Übereinkünfte in Kraft getreten. Die Europäische Charta der Regional- und Minderheitensprachen ist in 22* Mitgliedstaaten in Kraft, das Rahmenübereinkommen zum Schutz nationaler Minderheiten, das einige Bestimmungen zu Minderheitensprachen beinhaltet, in 39* Mitgliedstaaten. Dies ist eine wichtige vertragliche Grundlage, um Europas sprachlichen Reichtum zu schützen und zu fördern. Am Anfang des 21. Jahrhunderts leben alle Europäer in einem mehrsprachigen Umfeld. Im Alltag kommen die Menschen mit vielen verschiedenen Sprachen in Berührung, beispielsweise in Bus oder Bahn, durch Fernsehen, Radio oder Zeitung, oder durch die Angaben zu Inhaltsstoffen auf Waren im Supermarkt. Wir müssen in der Öffentlichkeit das Wissen um und Verständnis für die sprachliche Vielfalt Europas und die für deren Erhalt und Gedeihen wichtigen Faktoren stärken. Interesse und Neugier für Sprachen sind zu wecken und zu fördern. Es gilt, für sprachliche Toleranz in und zwischen den Ländern zu werben. Das waren einige der Ziele des Europäischen Jahres der Sprachen 2001, das Europarat und Europäische Union gemeinsam veranstalteten. Am Vorabend der Abschlussveranstaltung des Jahres beschloss das Ministerkomitee des Europarats, dass jedes Jahr am 26. September ein Europäischer Tag der Sprachen mit ähnlichen Zielen gefeiert werden sollte.