How to participate?

There are a vast number of ways in which you can celebrate the European Day of Languages depending on the time and means you have available.

These go from the simple (such as organising a film evening showing movies in different languages, or a language café serving specialities from a range of countries), to the more resource intensive (such large scale media events). The Calendar of events lists all activities which have been published on the EDL website since 2002 and offers a rich source of ideas. A cross-section is also available on the aptly named 'Get inspired' page!

Whether large or small, the principle is simple...

  1. have a good idea (an event such as a party, a tournament, a dinner)
  2. organise it, promote it
  3. enter the event into our database, and
  4. make it happen!

Organisation of the European Day of Languages
The Council of Europe does not issue directives (or financial support) for the organisation of activities. Member states and potential partners are given a free hand to organise activities as they wish, with a view to ensuring maximum flexibility in implementing the Day.

"National Relays"
In the majority of countries a person takes on the role of "relay" between event organisers and the Council of Europe on a voluntary basis. This also involves disseminating information and promotional materials produced by the Council at national, regional and local levels.   

Role of the Council of Europe
The Council of Europe initiated the Day and each year sends out posters, stickers and other promotional materials illustrating the diversity of languages in Europe. The materials are distributed on a centralised basis to National relays  who are responsible for their distribution nationally, in particular to meet the needs of EDL event organisers. 

 

  Search
#coeEDL

en  fr  cs  de  et  el  es  ga  hr  it  pl  ro  sq  sk  sl  sv  nn  sr  bs  lt  mk  lb  nl  hy  pt  tr  da  bg  fi  hu  ka  lv  eu  ca  ru  gl

Wie kann man teilnehmen?

Je nach Zeit und Mitteln können Sie den Europäischen Tag der Sprachen auf viele verschiedene Arten feiern.

Die Palette reicht von einfachen Veranstaltungen wie der Organisation eines Filmabends, an dem Spielfilme in verschiedenen Sprachen gezeigt werden, oder einem Sprachencafé, bei dem Spezialitäten aus verschiedenen Ländern serviert werden, bis zu ressourcenintensiveren Veranstaltungen wie großen Medienevents. Anregungen liefert der Veranstaltungskalender, in dem alle Aktivitäten verzeichnet sind, die seit 2002 auf der EDL-Website veröffentlicht wurden. Einen Querschnitt finden Sie auch auf der Seite mit dem treffenden Titel "Lassen Sie sich inspirieren".

Ob groß oder klein, das Prinzip ist einfach:

  1. eine gute Idee haben (Party, Turnier, Abendessen etc.)
  2. organisieren, dafür werben
  3. die Veranstaltung in unsere Datenbank eintragen  
  4. und los gehts!

Organisation des Europäischen Tags der Sprachen
Der Europarat macht keine Vorgaben (und gibt auch keine finanzielle Unterstützung) für die Organisation der Aktivitäten. Um für die Durchführung des Tages ein Höchstmaß an Flexibilität zu gewährleisten, wird den Mitgliedstaaten und potenziellen Partnern freie Hand gelassen, so dass sie ihre Aktivitäten nach eigenen Vorstellungen organisieren können.

Nationale Koordinatoren
In den meisten Ländern übernimmt jemand die ehrenamtliche Aufgabe eines Koordinators zwischen den Organisatoren von Veranstaltungen und dem Europarat. Diese Tätigkeit beinhaltet auch die Verteilung von Informations- und Werbematerial des Europarats auf nationaler, regionaler und lokaler Ebene.   

Rolle des Europarats
Der Europarat hat den Tag ins Leben gerufen und versendet jedes Jahr Poster, Aufkleber und andere Werbematerialien, die auf die Vielfalt der Sprachen in Europa hinweisen. Die Materialien werden zentral an die nationalen Koordinatoren versandt, die dann für die Verteilung auf nationaler Ebene sorgen sollen und damit vor allem die Organisatoren von EDL-Veranstaltungen unterstützen.